Tshukudu and the animals

I was lucky enough again to be able to attend a talk that Michelle was giving. She was speaking with a group of students from Queensland University in Australia at Tshukudu Bush Camp. Although her talk was really interesting the highlight of the day was the fact that I was able to interact with some animals. Robin, a long time family friend of Michelle’s, takes in abandoned little animals and hand rears them until they are able to be integrated and released back in to the wild. Because of this I was able to see some of the animals that she currently has near her. I got to pet a cheetah!!! It was so cool! And although I would never go up to a cheetah in the wild, the fact that I was able to pet one that goes out into the bush to hunt and just happens to hang out at the camp was so awesome! Then she also had three warthogs that were as adorable as warthogs can be. They were actually surprisingly clean animals considering they had a mud pit in their enclosure but they did fancy my shoe laces a lot! Then I got to see some African wildcats, but I don’t think that they were too fond of me because every time I called for them they went in the opposite direction. Oh well! The last animal I got to see was a little bush baby, and let me tell you that despite their gigantic eyes, they are the most adorable little creatures ever! They have weird little frog feet that they use to grip onto things and their fur is the softest thing I have ever felt. I now would like a pet bush baby please! I promise that I would let it be free when it wanted to, but they are just so cute I think I need one in my life!! So basically my day consisted of petting animals and to me that is just about the most perfect day that I could have!

Leave a comment